Jumbo Frame question

Hi all, I have a general question about this jumbo frame issue. I can install and setup basic lans/vlans etc so maybe I just know enough to be dangerous :slight_smile: . My understanding it that if the hub is connected to even a dumb unmanaged switch it should never 'see' jumbo frames on the network unless it's destined for the hub. I can't imagine any device produces a broadcast jumbo frame, but can they? And what device (sans a PC connecting to the hub) would need a jumbo frame for data to the hub? Or is there something else I'm missing? Thanks for any insight.

Hi @wecoyote5

I'm new to networking too. Here is a link to a brief article that may help. See the section, "What's the Catch?"

What are Jumbo Frames and How Do You Use Them? (techjunkie.com)

1 Like

Some devices just don't handle jumbo frames, HE is one of them. Honestly in a home environment they aren't necessary and honestly as a network engineer we really don't use them in larger networks as they really aren't necessary unless you're dumb enough to make a 2000 node network flat. LOL. Easier just to leave it off and avoid the headaches.

1 Like

Technical network engineering question for you Rick. For HE to receive a jumbo frame wouldn't it be true that (1) jumbo frames would need to be enabled on the network, and (2) some other device would need to be sending jumbo frames to specifically to HE? Or is there some sort of broadcast that uses jumbo frames?

1 Like

Do u have to turn them on at the netcard and the switch or only the switch. Because i just noticed on my managed 10g switch i have jumbo frames on the two nas , mail server and media/plex server ports.

The hubitat is behind a pair of moca connectors and 2 switches away. Pretty sure jumbo frames are not getting to it somehow.

Pretty sure every interface involved has to support jumbo frames. Routers, switches, NICs, etc.

Hi guys,