JSON Object ,Groovy, and Node-Red

Hi all,
Can someone please point me to a tutorial or examples for dealing with JSON objects sent from Node Red in groovy? I have a couple of Roombas that I like to display the mission status on my dashboard. Right now, I have it all working great with individual global variables and NR. I am new to Groovy and the syntax therein so as a learning exercise I wanted to design a more elegant/efficient solution to be able to remove the global variables and the individual connections to NR. I got as far as creating a custom driver that has the attributes I need and updated NR so that I can remove the global variables; that all works fine. However, now I want to remove the individual NR connections and have only one connection that sends the entire Roomba status message and then parse it in the groovy driver. I think I have NR sending the whole message (the log.info reads [object Object]) when I send the message but that's where I'm stuck, I can't find the correct tutorial/example(s) that show me how to...

1. View/log the message as it is (so I can see if I'm sending from NR correctly).
  2. Parse the message when I verify what the message structure is.

Any guidance would be appreciated, thanks!

1 Like

Have you taken a look at JsonSlurper? Parses a string into a data structure.

http://docs.groovy-lang.org/latest/html/gapi/groovy/json/JsonSlurper.html

Yes, I have. I haven't gotten that far yet as whenever I try to use slurper my Groovy driver errors out, so I think I'm not sending the data from NR properly; which is why I need to figure out how to view the raw message first. The whole structure comes from my Roomba as the msg.payload object, I move that to the msg.arguments object to be used with the Command node and send it to HE so I must be doing something wrong.

This is my simple groovy command function:

and as soon as I inject my NR this is the error I get: