Is Lutron Caseta Smart Bridge required for dimmers?

Hello, I am very new to Hubitat so please be gentle :slight_smile: I did a search and did not find a definitive answer to this question. If I want to use Lutron Caseta dimmer switches with Hubitat do I also need to buy the Caseta Smart Bridge? I found a thread that said even if the Smart Bridge was not working Hubitat could still control the dimmers but its still not clear if the Smart Bridge is required at all?

Thank you.

Yes and it needs to be the Pro version not the regular bridge. I just got one with a few dimmers and 8 pico remotes. Love it, well worth the cost of the pro bridge.

1 Like

Thank you. As I understand it, the Pro version of the Smart Bridge communicates directly with Hubitat via Telnet while the regular Bridge goes through the cloud? Is that the reason why people here prefer the Pro version?

Correct, Hubitat needs telnet, which in turn sets the requirement as Pro version of the bridge.

btw Lutron telnet is also what allows the Pico remotes to work with Hubitat ... and be used for just about anything at all (it's awesome).

Perhaps they meant if the Lutron cloud is down. The Hubitat and Smart Bridge Pro would probably still work fine locally. But it the Smart Bridge Pro itself went offline, then telnet would be gone, and therefore Hubitat would be unable to use it.

Thank you, last question (I think)...so does Hubitat work with the non-pro Smart Bridge? I get that it may defeat the purpose of keeping everything on the local network but just wondering. BTW, I've been reading about all the cool things people are doing with the Pico remotes so I will probably get the Pro version but still want to know if the non-pro version is supported.

iirc it doesn't have telnet, so no.