Iris v2 Motion sensor-unexpected behavior

I have been using these little guys for over two years. All of them have reliably detected motion and then reported inactive about 30 seconds after motion stops. The other day, I installed the first one from one of my Ebay lot purchases, and found that it reports inactive about 6-10 seconds after motion stops. I can think of a couple automations I have that could benefit from faster inactive reporting. So, I'm wondering if anyone is aware of some sort of hack that may have been performed on it in its past life?

Logs attached show four "around the corner hand waves" then standing in front of the sensor for about 20 seconds.

this isn't normal, nor is it configurable, it's likely old device firmware or test firmware on a device that escaped from someones lab...

2 Likes

Mike is, as usual, probably right, but I guess this is worth asking, too: is your battery new? Low batteries on these can cause the sensor to send spurious motion events, so if you haven't tried a new battery, that might be another idea. Definitely unlikely if all your motion active events are "real," since it seems like it's working fine and just reporting no motion earlier than any of the others, but who knows. (Some sensors have a "test mode" that allow you to make them do this--likely Centralite did in at least their development too. I'm assuming you've also reset the senor by holding the button as you insert the battery, not that this should matter if it's not configurable...)

1 Like

I had all of the same thoughts. I put in a new battery while holding the button. I've let it go for a few days to see if anything changed, but it acts as it should besides the quick inactive report. I got curious and fired-up the old Samsung SmartBeerMugCoaster, and found it does have the original firmware. It's updating as we speak. We'll see if the most recent firmware changes anything. I hope it doesn't!:grin: