Inovelli LZW42, I've about run out of patience

I have been using 2 LZW42 bulbs in my bedroom for about 2 years. They were rock solid for a while, then got wiggy last year when I added some zen25 plugs to the mix. Those are gone and the LZW42 's were fine agin until last week when they suddenly started changing colors and wouldnt stay where I wanted them. Had to exclude, reset, re-unclude them. I'm hitting the end of my patience with them. I'm starting to look in the direction of the LIFX bulbs. So, what I would like is someone to give me a really compelling argument for why I should just switch to LIFX. I would like to have the option of using colors (for night niaiins, etc). We don't run our lights on full brightness, usually 50% max, and as low as 3%. Can they hand that low of a brightness. Basically bright enough I can see to not trip over the dog at 5:00 a.m., but not bright enough to wake my wife ( color changes could come into play here too).

Other thoughts how "bold" are th colors? If I replaced the lights on my garage and set them to red for christmas, are they actually red? Or kind of pastel? There are Alot of people in my neighborhiid who's red and green look more like easter than Christmas!

I look forward to being pushed!! Thanks!

I use Hue bulbs attached to a Hue hub for red night lights. I find red at about 20% provides protection for the cats but does not wake everyone.

1 Like

Table lamps, or overhead lights on a switch?

1 Like

The problem children are table lamps. Also have two on the garage, but those haven't been nearly has flaky.

With table lamps, you do have the option to use a dumb dimmable bulb with a dimmable outlet. You don't get color changing, but I seem to find the outlets more reliable for some reason. I have some GE/Jasco Zigbee outlets that work well.

In other table lamps I just use cheap Zigbee dimmable Ecosmart bulbs, and they also work OK. But the LIFX are pretty tempting.