Hue polling not working

I'm new to Hubitat, switching over from SmartThings so I can maintain my Groovy app. I noticed that my Groovy app isn't functioning correctly with Hue bulbs. After doing some digging I narrowed it down to how Hubitat has to poll for Hue device states to maintain the correct state if it changes from a source other than Hubitat. I saw in the integration app configuration that the polling is set to one minute, however, the state doesn't appear to be updating within that minute timeframe (or at all) like it is supposed to. I also tried changing the polling rate to 10 seconds to see if it would help but had no luck. The switch state being inaccurate is causing issues with my Groovy app. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

I just did a quick test and my 1 minute poll took about 1 1/2 minutes to refresh. The web page won't show it but the refresh does happen. If you reload the device page you'll see it.

1 Like

Iā€™d try using the CoCoHue app as it has the experimental v2 of the hue API that might be able to help. @bertabcd1234 knows way more about this stuff and could go into more detail about how it works.

Either polling isn't really happening as scheduled, or the bulb data isn't getting parsed correctly by Hubitat despite the poll because of some oddity, most commonly the bulb (or room/zone) being in XY color instead of HS or CT mode, which are Hubitat's native color/color temperature models and which are difficult to reliably convert. This tends to happen if you recall Hue scenes and use third party bulbs; all Hue bulbs I've seen report CT or HS eventually (and accurately), even if they are in XY mode internally, but third-party bulbs vary.