Hubitat Nubie Trying to Call a Hubitat App from a Third Party System

Hi

I am brand new to Hubitat so please be patient with me. I have been using a SmartThings hub to make Z-Wave and Zigbee devices available to a Crestron professional automation processor. This uses a combination of groovy code on the SmartThings hub and C# code running on the Crestron processor. My goal is to port this to Hubitat.

Because I am brand new to Hubitat I have some very, very basic questions. I’m hoping that as I get one or two things working I’ll be able to make my way through the rest of it. But the learning cliff of working with a new system is always challenging.

I found the Maker app and in actuality what I’m trying to accomplish is very similar. The one part that is different is that the groovy code I’m porting from SmartThings will call the Crestron system with updates when the status of a device changes; such as when a user turns a light on/off at a wall switch.

For example, one of the Maker calls is:

http://Hubitat_IP/apps/api/34/devices/[Device ID]?access_token=xxxxxxxx

Given the above, here are my questions

1. I’ve placed my code in the Apps Code section and called my App “CrestronAPI”. Given that what should the url be so the call from the Crestron processor is routed to my groovy code?

2. I am not, at least until I get the basics working, using OAUTH. Do I need to include an access token as is done with the Maker call above? If so, how do I generate the access token? I saw it generated in the settings page of the Maker app.

Thanks in advance for the help

Well, I've made some progress. I realized that the Apps code was just an editing area. I've now gone and installed my code as a User App and found its id is 36. So my call now looks like this

http://IPAddress/apps/api/36/switches

where switches should return a list of the switches on my hub. When I enter in my browser I just get back "nullinvalid_token"

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong would be welcome.