How tricky is Hubitat for a newbie?

So, I've no coding experience (well, a failed attempt at learning Python for my raspberry pi - it now sits its box) and have never run a smart home before.

I very recently purchases a Google Nest Max and a chromecast, but my goal long term is for a more automatic and functional signal.

I've recently bought some Phillips Hue bulbs which will be my Christmas present. I have some degree of buyers regret as I was originally hoping to go with Z wave but on the flip side google will talk to them with no further effort from me.

I'm also hopeful to get some radiator TRV valves as we live in a rental flat. Ideally I could use these to control a future thermostat (although I've seen that Hive hates Hubitat on these forums and Google hates everything these days). So now I'm unsure whether to go with aoetec trvs (these and hubitat were recommended to me).

From there, I've hopes of further smart items - motion/door sensors, etc.

My concern is that I'll buy the HE and then stare bamboozled at it.

As with anything there is a small learning curve, but you should find that just about everything you want to do either has an app or can be done with a simple rule or two. And the best part is that if you get stuck this community is very good about jumping and helping...

4 Likes

Others will probably disagree with me on this, but for a 100% beginner I think hubitat is a pretty steep learning curve versus simpler systems like Wink.

That said, if you can get over the initial hump hubitat is a much more flexible and usable system than the other simpler ones. In my opinion anyway.

10 Likes