How to use the built-in dashboard?

How can I place a button on the dashboard that turns all lights off? And how can I place a button that lets me turn an entire room on /off?

Thanks!

I would create virtual buttons to achieve what you’re looking for. Have one button for all lights and also one button for each room. If you’re using Room Lighting for your lighting then in your means to activate and means to turn off, add your virtual button for that particular room. In the means to turn off, add your button for all your lights there.

It would work similarly in Motion Lighting

Then add the virtual buttons to your dashboard.

You also could use Groups and Scenes app, put the room (or all lights) into a group and use the virtual switch a group creates on the dashboard.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Groups_and_Scenes

1 Like

Thanks, but I’m a newbie - How do I create virtual buttons!!?

From the Devices page click the button to Add a Device. Select Virtual in the next screen. Then enter a name for the new device and select a Virtual Button from the drop-down for the driver / type.

1 Like

Thanks, I see how to do that but how do I tell it what devices should be included in that virtual button? How do I add that button to the dashboard?

I did miss one step in the device creation. Once you create the device like I described, on the device edit page you can set how many buttons the device has.

For the dashboard, open the Apps screen, click on your dashboard under the Hubitat Dashboard App and in the app settings page displayed add your new device and click Done.

Click on the Dashboards option from the menu on the left, sekectibg your dashboard. Click the plus sign to Add a Tile, selecting your button device, the button template and the button number.

Create a rule that uses the button as a trigger and toy are done.

Now press the button / tile on your dashboard to test....

To summarize: