How to use API to access variables?

I've been using the Maker api with javascript fetch() to access my switches. But I'm confused about how I can use the api to access variables. Is there a separate api from the one in Maker? I have a variable that I set in an app action, and I've read about the getGlobalVar(String name) in the api instructions. But I don't know how I use it in the api call. Is it just embedded in the url? Where?

Create connector devices for your variables. And then access those using Maker API.

2 Likes

Ok. Being a newb, I could really use a bit more explanation. :smiling_face:

Look at the section on creating connectors in the hub variables documentation …

https://docs2.hubitat.com/user-interface/settings/hub-variables

I had read that section. To me it said that connectors were something that was used in older versions and not needed these days! When I set one up in settings, I then saw it in Maker and now I understand that I access it as a pseudo-device in my javascript code. Thanks.

2 Likes

Maker API hasn’t changed in ~3-4 years; some changes would also break many existing external integrations. So it remains one of those older apps that cannot directly use hub variables.

2 Likes

As an alternative to creating a connector, you could use Rule Machine for this instead of Maker API. The idea is similar, just a different app to handle this, since Maker API has not been changed to allow direct access, while Rule Machine does offer this feature.

To do so, create a rule, then add a local or cloud endpoint trigger (depending on your needs). Then, use the Rule Machine hub variable HTTP API to set the hub variable — specifically, a GET to something like:

http://<your-hub-ip>/apps/api/<rule-app-id>/trigger/setHubVariable=<variable-name>:<variable-value>?access_token=<access-token>

for local, or similar for cloud with the cloud URL substituted for the beginning part.