How to Setup SMTP Relay for Email Alerts

I recently purchased my first sensor (Zooz ZSE42 water leak sensor). I'm not very technically savvy, so trying to get the sensor to work and send me an email when things got wet was a big challenge for me.

I discovered that since the birth of email spammers, pretty much all email is sent/received with some sort of encryption. Most ISP's now block Port 25, which was the original unencrypted port used for email. Trying to figure out how to do encryption on the Hubitat is a far more technical challenge then I was willing to tackle.

So I figured out that what I needed was an SMTP Relay. This would allow me to send unencrypted email from the Hubitat over my local LAN to the relay device. The relay would then encrypt it and send it out to the internet to my email provider.

There are services on the internet that do SMTP Relay. Some are free and others are not. The ones I looked at seem to be major overkill for what I needed to do. That is, send a single email if and when the sensor detects a water leak.

I discovered that my Synology NAS can do SMTP Relay. Here is step-by-step instructions to do that, plus how to setup the Hubitat to detect a condition and create/send an email.

SYNOLOGY NAS SETUP

On the Synology NAS, go to the Package Center and install the 'Synology Mail Server'. It might prompt you to install additional packages. Just accept them all and install it.
install_server

Click on the Mail Server icon. Then click SMPT. You should see the image below.

Set the options as shown above. Check "Enable SMTP" and set account type to "Local users". Then check "Enable SMTP Authorization", and check "Ignore authorization for LAN connections". Finally, enter the internet address of your email provider in the "Hostname(FQDN)" box. Leave the port at 25 and the "Maximum size per Email" can be a number that limits the email size. Specifying a 10 here means emails up to 10 Megabytes will be allowed.