How to prevent double-tap, need rule to delay next action

Hello, community. I'm still new to Hubitat.
Is there a way to prevent double clicking a button by mouse in a Dashboard? I think accidental double clicking destroyed some electronics that I'm controlling through Hubitat because that created fast ON/OFF transients..

Thanks

You could create a Virtual Switch device, that is exposed via the Dashboard. Then, use a Rule Machine rule to “debounce” the signal between the virtual device and the real device to prevent rapid changes in status.

3 Likes

Along similar lines to @ogiewon 's, what if you created a two-button virtual button, one for on and one for off? Each button would only do the same action each time, so double-tapping the on button wouldn't change the state, since the physical switch is already on.

2 Likes

Good idea. Thanks! Now I have to try to learn how to do it because doing what I did was hard enough and I already forgot how to do it... If you could point me to a link to tutorial on how to create separate On and Off buttons - I'd really appreciate it !

Thanks! Not sure I understand though... Could you please pont to a link of how this is done ?

Not sure I could easily find a tutorial as such, though I expect there would be one somewhere....

Here's some steps on what I had in mind

From the Devices page select Add Device, selecting Virtual, then the Virtual Button Type, enter a name and a Room if you want.

On the Device Detail page for the new device, the number of buttons defaults to 5, but you can adjust this to 2 if you want.

If you don't already have the built-in Button Controllers App installed, install this from the Apps page.

Create a new Button Controller, selecting the new Virtual Button created earlier. Create two "rules" for each of the two buttons, using a Control Switches action, button one push for ON and button two push for OFF.

Add the new Virtual Button to the list of devices for your dashboard.