How to keep lights on, with motion continuing, when using motion sensors

I have set up an app that successfully, turns the lights on. However, they automatically go off, even if there is continuing motion. Please take a look at the steps and let know if you have suggestions. Thanks.

Clarification: I set this for 1 minute to test the app. It us usually set for 10 minutes. Even then I have the same issue.

Use Room Lights instead of RM.

2 Likes

So, your rule will only trigger with the first time that it goes active. The way you have it written, will always turn the light off after the delay, as you're experiencing.

You probably want something more like:

Trigger:
Motion active

Actions:
IF (modes) THEN
On light
Wait for event motion inactive for XX minutes
Off light 

Or, as Bruce said, kick it to room lighting and use the "vary light settings per mode" option.

1 Like

Thanks for this specific suggestion. I am fairly new to Hubitat and appreciate the support. I tried your suggestion using the Rule Machine logic you suggested. It is below. This worked better than prior efforts... but still had issues: 1) The lights went out after about 2.5 minutes even though there was still motion, and 2) after the motion stopped the lights went out about 30 seconds later. Below is what I set up. Any further suggestions? Again ... many thanks.

As @bravenel said, "Use Room Lights instead of RM."

2 Likes

Turn on logging for this rule and post the results. Also, check the device page and see if the "In Use By" section lists another app as controlling this switch.

One small issue I see with the rule is if the light is on and within the Wait time AND you're no longer in Evening or Night AND motion goes active again the Wait will be canceled and the light won't turn off. I also prefer for the rule not to trigger when not in Evening or Night. I would make a Required Expression for Evening or Night and eliminate the IF-THEN action.