How to expose Inovelli LZW45 (LED strip) pixel animations as a button?

I'm trying to create a simple, single-purpose button that turns on/off a pixel effect on my LZW45 strip, in order to add it to Homekit (eg. a "Rainbow Light Show" button). I've tried creating a virtual button, but those seem only to be able to control the light strip in general (on/off, dim, set color, etc), not this specific action.

So basically I just want a "first class citizen" button to do what I can do from the devices page. I'm very much a newbie here, but would the right thing be to have some sort of rule machine trigger?

Buttons (well, virtual ones, at least) don't control anything unless you tell them to, so what setup did you use for this? Creating a virtual button, then using the Button Controller app to run a custom command, pixelEffectStart(), on your lightstrip looks like it should work.

I can go into more detail, but it might be less work to know what you have so far.

Thanks for the reply. I had poked around earlier and seen similar advice as well. For some reason I think I got lost in the layers of Button Controller menus, but your advice kicked me in the rear and now I've got pixelEffectStart(11) on button 1 of the virtual button. Thank you!

Is there an easy way to make the button toggle-able within the Button Controller app, or is that something I'd need to start using Rule Machine for? Thanks again!

If you can find how to query the pixel state in a conditional, you should be able to toggle it using Button Controller or RM. Then your action for button is:

If pixel 11 =on, then turn off
If pixel 11=off, then turn on

I don't have that light strip so I don't know exactly how to query the strip's state.

You could also use 1 button and cycle thru effects.

If pixel = 11, then change to 12
If pixel = 12, then change to 13
If pixel = 13, then change to 11.

I do similar with all of the fan speeds of my fan controller and with colors for a couple of RGB bulbs.