How to change Hubitat Mode (to Night) by issuing a Google Assistant command

I am new to Hubitat as of yesterday, but I've added devices and successfully created my first Motion Lighting automation. I can't find anything about the following in the Community, but it seems like a common feature people would like to use, so I'll ask. How can I issue a Google Assistant command (or through a GA Routine) to change my Hubitat mode (to Night for instance)? I have added Hubitat to Google Home, and also added the Google Home app to Hubitat. Thank you for any guidance.

Probably many ways to do it. I'd do it this way.

1. Create a virtual switch. Auto off after 5 seconds.
  2. Go into the google integration in HE, and allowed Google to see and modify virtual switch.
  3. Create a rule in HE that changes mode to night when switch is turned on.
  4. Open google app on phone, say sync my devices and see the new virtual switch appear.
  5. Say, "hey google, turn on virtual switch", (or optional) create a routine in google app to trigger it via easier phrase, such as "hey google, change mode to night".

I did it a little differently... As you say - there are many ways to do it.

I configured the Google Home integration in Hubitat, selecting the modes I want Google to have access to.

Then in Google Home, I added "Adjust Scene" to my 'bedtime' routine, and specified the Hubitat mode I wanted in the scene option ("Home-Night" in my case).

1 Like

Yeah, I just saw the the HE google integregation app has access to modes. Things you learn!

Yeah creating a routine and "adjust scene" is the way I do it for the not the everyday modes.

Thanks for the suggestions. It felt that JasonJoel's suggestion was easiest, and it worked perfectly. I appreciate it!