How to activate a hubitat virtual switch within homebridge?

I've got homebridge running on a raspberri pi and I have the unifi protect plugin installed, along with the hubitat/maker api plugin. My first initial goal is to capture the "doorbell press" event from my unifi doorbell and get a sonos announcement. I can see the doorbell press in homebridge and I can activate the hubitat virtual switch via the homebridge dashboard and its status syncs across from hubitat. So I can easily setup a TTS event when the virtual switch is turned on. How to I tie the doorbell press event in homebridge to the virtual switch in homebridge? Do I have to setup homekit somewhere? I have little experience with Apple as I'm an android guy, so homebridge/homekit is new to me. I'm assuming Alexa could be used as a go between with a routine? I'd really like there to be a local method, and I feel like there is one that I just don't know about. Or maybe there's even a way to do it in homebridge and I just don't know what I don't know. Thanks!

If you don't have HomeKit setup on an Apple device you could use the homebridge-alexa plugin in HomeBridge and link the devices through Alexa.

You would still need to setup an account to link your Amazon Alexa to Homebridge. This can be done at: https://www.homebridge.ca/.

This account will be used when you enable the skill in the Alexa App.

Thank you. I do suppose that would work, and might even be simpler, keeping it outside of habitat entirely. I have a Sonos One with Alexa built in that could easily make the announcement. It sure would be nice to trip that virtual switch in habitat though. Local execution and the ability to respond to that button press with basically anything, from any speaker. It looks like it could be achieved with Node-Red running on a pi...?

Well I guess you could trip the hubitat switch via alexa with this setup also, so the only downside would be the cloud component and potential execution delays.