How does those LIVE ONLY switches stay powered? Are they reliable?

For years the neutral requirement of smart switches have always been a huge challenge since most switches, specially in our country, does not have neutral (lights are wired in series method).

I'm amazed that there are smart switches now that does not require neutral (LIVE ONLY switches) and I have here one 2-gang LIVE ONLY smart switch from KONKE that's been working great for over a month now.

I know the neutral requirement of the old switches are means to power the smart switch. But w/ these LIVE ONLY switches, how are they powered?

I'm not an electrician but I understand that any device needs to complete a circuit w/ the power source in order for get powered, hence switches do nothing but INTERRUPT this circuit to cut the power from the bulb.

In the above diagram, that's how our switches are wired up and I simply replaced that manual switch w/ the LIVE ONLY smart switch and boom, it works!

How the heck can the switch get power if it doesnt complete the circuit for the light bulb, thereby also cutting itself off from a completed circuit as well.

Furthermore, I'm designing a new house for a client, and I was wondering if it's now ok to recommend and rely on these LIVE ONLY SMART SWITCHES . Wiring all the switches w/ a neutral line adds cost to the project and I'd like to save my client $$$ by not requiring a neutral line in the switch boxes anymore.

But these LIVE ONLY smart switches are new territory for me and I'm worried this may be a problem in the future.

Any advise?

The ones I have seen allow a small amount of current flow when off. This can be a problem if your bulb has very low current requirements - such as LED bulbs. They may flicker or remain on at a very low level.

5 Likes