How does Hubitat's built in presence detection work?

Hello from Scotland dear Hubitat community.

I'm just starting out on the home automation journey with my shiny new HE hub. I've been enjoying learning everything I can via a plethora of youtube videos and this community.

I've hit a roadblock (the first of many I'm sure) regarding the built in 'presence' functionality. I can't seem to find any information on how this works. I've added my iphone app as a device and on my dashboard I have then added this device with the presence template. I've confirmed in the app 'enable geofence' is on. I'm presented with this tile showing I'm present:

However, when I switch my phone to airplane mode, I expected the tile to update to 'not present' after a while but it doesn't change. Can anyone explain why?

I'd also appreciate any further information about how this built in functionality works? I presume my phone app pings a message occasionally to the hub to provide it's location and when it's outside the geofence the status of the device will change to not present automatically. Is that correct? If so how do I set the geofence? I've entered the address of my hub in the 'your location' area of the settings but I can't see option to define a radius for a geofence..

When your phone goes outside/inside of your Geo Location area that you have set then it will change the status of from Present to Not Present or Visa Versa. To set the geofence range open up the mobile app and click on geo fence area. There is a slider under the map that you can adjust the geofence range to your house.

1 Like