How can I kill a looping driver

I have a lot of coding experience, but the closest to Groovy is C, and the closest event driven environment is the old Visual Basic stuff. All the environments I've coded in so far (from IBM mainframe operating system stuff to TV remote control chips) have had some pretty good debugging capabilities, including the ability to single step thru code.

I'm trying to get up to speed on HE and Groovy. I can understand a lot of the driver code because, to me, the Groovy syntax is reasonably close to C syntax.

Where I'm struggling is understanding how to test/debug code. It looks like the main way is to write log messages. Am I correct in that there is no way to single step thru code?

It's only a matter of time before I try to test some code that goes into a never-ending loop due to a programming error, for example, a while loop whose break logic never becomes true. When that happens, how can I kill the code/driver/instance/whatever-needs-to-be-killed to stop the loop?

You're correct, there isn't a debugger for the Groovy environment, just the system logs.

I did have an issue with a runaway loop once, I think (not certain, it was a while ago) the solution was just to remove the instance of the app and that killed it.

I don't think infinite loops are as common in Groovy as they are in C since you are usually looping over lists instead of using counters to manually iterate through things.

The diagnostic tool offers a Safe Mode that will help you stop the kind of loop you're thinking of.

And yes, debug lines are your best tool, there is no native step through method.

2 Likes

And of course, the first time I tried to test the driver I'm working on, it went into an infinite loop that included a sendEvent call. HE terminated it after a few seconds. Something about too many events.