Homekit/Homebridge Integration?

Hi Hubitat Community,
I've been running a SmartThings Hub for a few years, with a separate device running HomeBridge to expose all my z-wave devices to HomeKit (I like the Siri controls). I'm looking at moving to Hubitat now, and confused about something-

Would I be able to run HomeBridge on my Hubitat hub directly, or do I still need an external device?
And if not...why not? It sure seems like a killer feature if Hubitat were to expose that functionality natively to HomeKit users.

Thanks in advance!
Dan

As far as I know, there is no native homebridge integration for HE. That said, I run homebridge on a rpi4 and it runs flawlessly. There are many other devices you can run it on. There is a huge thread here dedicated to homebridge.

3 Likes

I think it could potentially make sense for Hubitat as a company to pursue official HomeKit certification for the hub.

But Homebridge is a hack. Don’t get me wrong, it’s an amazing one, and I use it.

But IMHO for them to somehow officially incorporate it into the hub when it could theoretically disappear tomorrow based on Apple’s whims, it isn’t even worth considering.

2 Likes

At that point though seems like you'd be better off with "Threads" compatibility before going the pure Apple route. Like @jvwilson101 I run homebridge on an RPi4.

Works great but agree with you it is a useful / well designed "hack" that Apple seems to tolerate for now.

Of course once @spot gets into things RPi (or external server) there are plenty of other fun things to do as well.. MQTT, Node-RED etc. :wink:

3 Likes

Lol, yup. Homebridge was the reason I first setup an RPi. But then I had to try OpenVPN, then Pi-hole, then Node-Red...

Next up probably probably Wireguard :rofl:.

2 Likes

:+1: on the wireguard - very fast!!!! May I recommend this script? You can use it for OpenVPN or Wireguard.

https://pivpn.io/

(apologies for the slight thread deviation!!!)

1 Like