Homebridge nest cam integration not showing thumbnails properly

I’m new to HomeKit but so far I love the Hubitat integration. I wanted my Nest cameras in HomeKit so I setup homebridge and used the Google nest plugin. It works… sort of. The only thing I don’t like about it is the fact that the thumbnails on the home screen don’t show the actual camera image. Has anyone else encountered this? I can’t help but think I’m doing something wrong but I followed the instructions exactly as written when setting up the Google cloud platform stuff. It’s all Greek to me but I can follow directions. I’m wondering if the home screen is supposed to look like this or if I did something wrong?

I have done the same for Ring for my doorbell cam and I get a snapshot in the Home app, can tap that for a live view. I did have to install and extra piece of software on the homebridge server, ffmpeg which it uses for video conversion I believe. Should be in the instructions if you need it.

Ok I’ll look into that. I can see the live videos. Recordings are acting up a bit.

Ok I took a look at the ffmpeg plug-in. I’m using the following plugin - Google Nest Sdm. I’m not sure I need the ffmpeg plugin since I’m already using the one for Google nest. A lot of this stuff is over my head unfortunately.

Are you sharing the devices from Hubitat to Homebridge or did you setup a Homebridge plugin to work directly with google? It will probably work best if you integrate them directly with Homebridge.

So possibly you are using this: homebridge-google-nest-sdm - npm

1 Like

You're right, That's what I am using. I setup the homebridge plugin to work directly with google.

I may have found the answer... Maybe I didn't do anything wrong and this is just the way it is...

Based on that discussion in GitHub, looks like you’re right.