Help with rule

Hey Folks,

Hope you can help me by taking a look at the following rule and letting me know if I'm going about this the right way, or if there's a more efficient process? I'm still learning.

The point of the rule is this:

• I want to control a fan that I placed onto my bedroom window, based on the temperature in the room, but I only want the rule to fire under certain conditions.
  • The fan is plugged into a Wemo plug (which is connected to Hubitat through a virtual switch tied back to IFTTT.)
  • I only want the rule to fire when I'm at home and in bed, so I've tied it back to the state of my Abode alarm--when the "Virtual Abode Home" switch turns on.
  • I only want the rule to fire when the window is open--when the "Virtual Abode Master Bedroom Window South 1" switch is on.

In order for it to fire throughout the night I set a periodic schedule of every 15 minutes. Is that what you would do too? I'll take any suggestions and thank you.

If you want the fan to turn off if any of the three conditions that caused it to turn on changes, then you don't need ELSE-IF.

Just

ELSE
Off: Virtual Wemo Plug
ENDIF

1 Like

:smirk: that's so obvious to me now... why didn't i think of that?

1 Like

I cleaned up the rule as you recommended:

Still wondering if running a periodic schedule is the way to go? And if so, would there be much of a drawback (resources perhaps?) to increase the frequency from every 15 minutes to say, every minute?

I'd recommend using the WeMo app/driver to directly control your WeMo plugs/switches from HE. I use this and it works flawlessly

1 Like

usually i would set the trigger to be =>68*

the i would use the IF statements to check the other factors. this way it only fires when the temp reaches that threshold. not every 15 minutes night and day.

1 Like