Help with RM4

Ok everyone you have been great in the past about helping. I'm still learning RM4 and have received excellent help in the past! How can I accomplish this in RM4? I want my hue TV back lights and hue go to turn on and off when the TV is turned on and off. I have it set to 30 minutes after sunset but honestly as long as it is getting a little dusky outside I'm fine with that and it honestly would work better I think. Anyway I have a Roku TV in my living room and the roku lite driver installed.

I see the TV is polled every 30 seconds but I'm just not sure what is the best way to accomplish this? Did I mention I'm still learning RM4? This is the rule I currently have and I know this only covers turning them on I'm not sure how the or got in there and was not sure how to set that to an and.

Any help would be much appreciated. Maybe one day I will learn enough to help others?

Amatuer here also. I like to write rules differently than this. I think it might work, depending upon your goal. The thing I see is it won't turn off the Hue the way you have it. The only other thing I might suggest is you don't want the lights on no matter what at sunset, right? You want TV on too.

The way I would do this is to...

Trigger:
TV on physical changed

Action:
IF TV is on
AND time is between Sunset and Midnight
Then ON Hue XYZ, ABC, DEF temperature whatever.

ELSE IF TV physical is off
THEN turn off Hue XYZ, ABC, DEF

ENDIF

I'm probably forgetting something, but this would be a starting point.

1 Like

So, I assume you want these lights to turn on if the TV is turned on but only if it's later than sunset? If so, the above rule looks good to me! (Good job, @neonturbo, for a self-described "amateur"!)