Help with Hue Dimming in RM

Hello, I am new to HE and just installed my hub today and I'm starting to migrate over. One reason I came to HE is to have faster device responsiveness and to hopefully be able to setup a dimming function with either Webcore (what I'm used to) or RM. Webcore on smartthings was too slow and it looks like Webcore on HE is also too slow but RM seems to be able to be fast enough, I just can't figure out the conditions.

I'm trying to set an Inovelli switch/dimmer to dim the lights up while I hold the up paddle and stop dimming when I release and vice versa for down. I have down working fine, but dimming up seems to have an issue due to both the switch and level needing changed.

Does anybody know how I would be able to turn Hue lights on from off to a low dim level in order for RM to then start dimming it up?

You can use Rule Machine for this, but Button Controller would also work. If you use Rule Machine, use the "Button Device" trigger capability and not plain "Button." The result of doing so will be nearly identical to the Button Controller UI and will work better (if you don't want to just use Button Controller itself) for what you want to do.

The key things you need to make this work how you want is that the device you're ultimately controlling needs to support the "Start Level Change" and "Stop Level Change" commands. If you're using Hubitat's built-in Hue Bridge integration, you're good to go. You can see the commands a device supports in the rows/columns of buttons at the top of its page under "Devices" in the Hubitat admin UI. You will note that Hue groups from Hubitat's built-in Hue Bridge integration do not support these commands, so you'll have to use either individual bulbs or a third-party integration if you want that. These are the commands that get you the smooth dimming you're looking for: the former will start raising or lowering the level until either the latter is called or it reaches the min/max level.