Help with Garage Automation(solved) Thanks to everybody that contributed

What I am trying to do is turn the garage fans (which are two old fans wired to a plug and plugged in a smart outlet) on when temp goes over 85 and turn off when the temp goes below 85. Here is what I have so far.

The thing is, if I leave home I want the fans to turn off and then turn on when I get back as long as the temp is still over 85.
I know this may be mundane to some of you but I am just learning and need all the help I can get. All my basic automations run great but I am trying to make some more complicated ones.

I have a quick errand to run, but I totally get what you're saying. I have a similar rule that runs my bedroom fan. the problem you're going to find is that sensor isn't going to report enough to be reliable. They're great for reference, but basing an automation on it might frustrate you. Just know that reporting isn't fast and it might not report often enough.
I'll post my fan rule here, you can modify it for your needs. It's much more than you need ,but will help you with the concept. When I return in roughly 60 minutes, I can discuss more.
You would just use your presence and the temperature would be handled in a more simple way, but here's the idea

1 Like

Thanks for the reference material. I will be in and out today, but I will totally look this over and see if I can understand what you have done and adapt it for my application.

No problem. When I get back I'll give you something closer to your use case to check out later as well.

Hi,
@april.brandt is better at this than I but I can give you some direction.