Help with Discovering Devices from Hubitat with Echo Dot

I have the skills app loaded in Hubitat and I selected all the devices I want to control, and the Amazon Alexa App on my phone. The Hubitat Skill is loaded in the amazon echo app.

The dot does not find any devices. I know I am missing a step but I am new to this alexa thing.

What step(s) am I missing? thanks

Sometimes you need to ask Alexa to update your devices if you've made any changes.

Is update devices different from discover devices?

I'm probably mixing up my terms as I switched to Google but yes. They're the same.

Ok, I have asked the dot to discover devices but it says there are no devices to discover.

I know there are two Alexa integrations in Hubitat.
Which one are you using?
Or did they finally get rid of the older less functional one...

echo skill and echo app

I believe Skill is the one that should be used.

I just tried them both and I get the same result

Huh, other than making sure your hub is up to date I would maybe reach out to support then.
What types of devices are you trying to add?

Only devices that are controllable like switches and bulbs

1 Like

Yup, then I would go ahead and reach out to support because it sounds like you're doing everything right.
Hopefully it's not a regional issue.
I don't know what countries are supported.
I think US and UK have their own that are bundled accordingly.

Please check your PM

1 Like

Thanks everyone. Support has already fixed this for me. Very impressed!

2 Likes

I just started having a similar problem. I have added devices to Echo Skill app and they showed up in Alexa no problem. Just added 3 more and they don't show up. tried several times. Told Alexa to discover, no luck. These last 3 are virtual contact sensors.

Contact and Motion sensors are not yet supported by the Hubitat Alexa Skill. There is no simple way to trigger an Alexa Routine currently.