Help offloading Envisalink processing to another hub

Calling on @brad5 for some assistance! In another thread, you mentioned that had previously had the Envisalink Integration running on your primary hub but decided to offload the processing for your Envisalink to another hub. Can you explain to a noob (me!) step-by-step the procedure for accomplishing this?

I have been using Envisalink with HE for about two years now and have purchased another C7 which I have been keeping in reserve as a hardware backup. However, I am considering putting the second hub to use to run my “chatty” Envisalink (separating it from my “chatty” Ecobee Suite Manager) and perhaps purchasing a third hub as a hardware backup just to have handy.

Are you running only Envisalink on your “Envisalink” HE hub? What are the best practices for getting Envisalink on another hub, then transferring all the Envisalink devices to that hub, and then maintaining the “links” between those Envisalink devices (sensors etc) and the Apps that remain on the “old” hub (is everything maintained in all the different apps etc)? Does Hub Mesh do this automatically?

Sorry for all the noob questions. Just want to make sure I don’t make a mess of it as my system works well as is, even though it is all running on one hub at this time. I figure that two meshed hubs would just give me more headroom for any future expansions. TIA for any help/advice.

No problem! It was much easier than this will make it out to be, mostly because I'm more than a bit OCD.

I had hub mesh installed, configured, and tested on both hubs before I started. Hint: I got lazy and just enabled EVERY device for hub mesh. More than 500. Big mistake. I suggest you be more judicious than I and mesh only those devices you need.

I decided that any of the rules I have that interact extensively with Envisalink would also move to hub 2. HSM also needs to move to hub 2, which is a bit of a pain since HSM does NOT synchronize with hub mesh.