Help im new to rule machine and hubitat

When I close the door the lights don't change to 100 brightness why is this? FYI im new

Update they change to 100 brightness after 5 minutes then 5 seconds later then turn back to 20 brightness why is this?

UPDATE: lol, I'm dumb forgot to check if the door was open on the motion one well wondering tho is there any way to improve this automation? FYI The automation I have works now.

1 Like

I'm not sure if this is just best practice but when mixing AND and OR statements in an IF statement I always use sub-expressions as it defines the logic in an unambiguous manner, these are displayed within Brackets.

Edit:
It would look something like this:

2 Likes

What are your triggers for this rule? Post a screen shot of the entire rule. Also, you have a lot of dead spots in your time conditions.

For example:
Time between 2:00 PM and 4:00 PM
is evaluated true between 2:00:00.000 and 3:59:59.999. It's fine to have the end of one time condition the same time as the beginning of another.

And just to be complete
Time is 2:00 PM
is evaluated true between 2:00:00.000 and 2:00:59.999

2 Likes

like this?

Yes that's what I meant. :+1:

The last two ELSE-IF's may also be competing with one another, one waits for the contact sensor to open, the other checks if it is open, but one block turns the lights off, the other dims to 20. I know they are checking at different times, but I expect this will only be evaluated when the rule triggers.