Help: Don't Turn Off Lights after Closing Door if Motion is detected

So, I am new to rule machine, and I thought I had a basic understanding after going through the wiki. Apparently not. ;D

I am trying to simply not turn off my lights in the garage workshop when I close the door if I am in there (motion active). This is what I did, but it seems it turns off the light no matter what. Do I not understand the exit rule command correctly? Any help is appreciated

That should more or less work, but it should be noted that it checks the state of the motion sensor 1 minute after the contact sensor closes (not when it closes) and some motion sensors may have a quick enough "reset" time that they go inactive in less than a minute if you're just standing in the room, maybe even moving a little bit, depending on how sensitive they are. You can see from the time you took your screenshot that motion was inactive at that time (or at least when the page was loaded; this may not be a surprise given when you probably took the screenshot).

There are a couple things you could try: one is to decrease the delay in your rule or see if your motion sensor allows you to increase the motion inactive timer (many Z-Wave ones do; I haven't seen as many Zigbee ones that do), assuming neither of these would be a problem for your rule or other things that use the device.