Hayward Pro Logic PS Help

First, I'm a novice coder at best and I've never done anything in Hubitat.

This is the interface I'm trying to use: Hayward AQ-CO-SERIAL

I'm able to send and receive using Telnet and a Serial-Telnet adapter, but some of the commands don't work. I'm pretty sure It's because of how I'm doing the checksum.

Below is how I'm sending commands. The commands replicate a button Press and a button Release, that's why there are two.

def lightsCommandP = [16,2,1,9,0,28,16,3] as byte[]
        def lightsCommandR = [16,2,2,9,0,29,16,3] as byte[]
        def lightsR = new String(lightsCommandR)
        def lightsP = new String(lightsCommandP)
        sendMessage(lightsP)
        sendMessage(lightsR)

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you Jorge Martinez (Monoprice 6 Zone) and Mike Maxwell (Generic Component Parent Demo)

Which options are you using on telnetConnect()? What does the implementation of sendMessage() contain?

You probably want to use this to make a hex string from your byte array, because String will parse them as ASCII or UTF-8.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=HexUtils_Object#byteArrayToHexString

Your command packets look correct (including the checksum field) from a quick skim of the doc.

Try this:

def lightsP = hubitat.helper.HexUtils.byteArrayToHexString(lightsCommandP)
def lightsR = hubitat.helper.HexUtils.byteArrayToHexString(lightsCommandR)
sendMessage(lightsP)
sendMessage(lightsR)

Assuming sendMessage(msg) contains something like:

sendHubCommand(new hubitat.device.HubAction(msg, hubitat.device.Protocol.TELNET))

Thanks for the help on this.

It was me being dense, as usual. The commands are listed 1-28 and I didn't read the heading: Data (in Hexadecimal).

I'm able to send commands using Habitat devices now. Didn't have to convert to hex.

Next is to update Habitat device status if a manual change is made from the Pool Controller Panel. Any idea how I'd do that?