Haven lock Z wave

Z wave version coming up:

https://havenlock.com/products/haven-connect-z

3 Likes

Ooh - that's very nice!

Eagerly waiting for the first user experience posts... :rofl:

Very creative :slight_smile:

interesting

I was going to post last night, but ran out of time...

As some of you know from previous posts I have a physical security team at my company that tests breach capability on some things for rescue training.

While I have no experience with Haven, I do have experience with very similar non-smart devices like that. And from testing I've witnessed directly, they can be VERY effective.

Not as useful if you have a door that has a significant window in it (as I've seen breach attempts simply snap them in 2 in the middle) but with any solid door it should dramatically improve breach resistance.

And it can't be "picked" via traditional methods.

The downside, obviously, is you have to be ok with this apparatus on your door sill.

1 Like

Thanks for posting this. I followed the development and testing for this for the first couple of years and made suggestions to them for home automation use before the initial product release. I didnโ€™t buy the product due to lack of integration and when you needed a another hub to communicate, I was done. That said, I preordered this one and I am glad to see the development led down this path anyway! Now @bcopeland will have another driver added to his request list!

1 Like

:eyes:

1 Like

So you're sending him a free lock???? COOL!!! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I poked the company to see if they would be interested in sending a sample for a driver..

2 Likes

@bcopeland... Suspecting you didn't get said free sample. My unit arrived today and is installed. No driver for it though!

Since you are "The Man", wanna whip something up real quick? It's a simple device....

Manual here with Z-Wave details (Page 10-15):

-Travis