Hardware specs - amperage thoughts

I see a lot of talk about devices not rated for high amp. I get that. I also feel it's somewhat of a gimmick - or just call it a place of confusion for john q public.

In the US, most house circuits are 15A. I personally have never seen a power cable go through a wall just to one socket. it's always a daisy chain through a few rooms.
My Seedan/CMARS outlets are rated at 10A. that is a ton of juice. The idea that someone truly needs a device that can handle 20A or more... always makes me shake my head.
Perspective - a blow dryer is 1500w. (ymmv). 12.5 A. Now. I was a hardware engineer when I got out of college, specializing in AC/DC. When we built something we used the 'factor of safety' rule. thats 10% over design. Your 1500w hair dryer really puts out 1350w at max. 11.3A
The 10A rated outlet is 10% off as well. it's really 11A. I realize we're close here but this is just point of discussion - spending tons of money to get a 20A rated outlet or relay is nuts since the circuit is a 15A outlet to begin with! What we need to be looking for is 15A rated outlets!

I'm not following all your comments.

In any case, when a circuit breaker is rated for 15A, it probably uses 14 gauge wire that can only safely handle 15A (and for a limited distance). And, all the outlets and switches are rated for 15A.

The reason for the "safety factor" is to allow for age and other unpredictable things--not so someone can just blindly go ahead and try pulling 17+ Amps. That's a fire waiting to happen.

And, there are some devices that are best plugged into a 20A outlet (some even come with associated "sideways" plug).

The real concern I have is with how "derated" every thing is when you're dealing with LED bulbs.

A dimmer (or even a switch) rated for, say, 1500 watts of incandescent load--is often only good for about 300 watts of LED load. :frowning:

I'm in no way qualified, but still happy to offer an uneducated guess... :slight_smile: