General electrical question about switched outlet

I have a switched outlet under our sink. Both plugs in the outlet are switched. A switch next to the sink turns the outlet on/off.

Is it a relatively simple to change one of the plugs in the outlet to unswitched? I want to keep one plug in the outlet switched for the garbage disposal, and make the other unswitched to power a touchless faucet we have. The wiring is relatively modern, put into place in 2005.

Generally a simple change in most cases, or ? Unfortunately I can't pull the plug and take pics at the moment as I'm dealing w/an injury that makes getting into and working under the sink a bad idea for the time-being.

1 Like

Greetings danabw. Keeping in mind I am NOT an electrician...
I believe you can take any standard plug and setup what your wanting. Look closely at the side of a new plug (before you wired or installed it). You will find a small brass connection between the two screws on the line or hot side. (This is the smaller of the two is the two and line/hot/power supply side (typically brass or black). The other larger side is the white/common/negative (typically silver)). This connection on the line side can be easily removed with a pair of pliers. That disconnects the connection between the two ports. Then they can be wired independently. One can be wired to a switch, the other wired "hot" all the time. That is not a hack, that's how they are designed from days gone by when houses would wire this way to turn on lamps or such with a light switch.

Should go without saying, but, PLEASE turn the power off to any electrical device before working with it.

1 Like

THANKS thebearmay. I see your professional answer after I typed up my ramblings.

1 Like

I figured Google would do a much better job explaining than I ever could. :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Wait, I'm confused, I thought you were volunteering to come over and do it.

1 Like