Garage door lighting control

I have set up a rule that turns on the kitchen light when the garage door opens, so that when we come home and enter through the garage, the kitchen light is on when we enter the house. The problem is when we leave the same way. We have to turn off the kitchen light before entering the garage. The light switch is about 6 feet from the garage door opener. If we turn the kitchen light off and then open the garage door, the kitchen light comes back on. What I need is a rule that doesn't allow the light to be turned on by the garage door trigger for 30 seconds after we turn the kitchen light off. For now, I have a second conditional rule that disables the first rule at certain set times. I'm a newbie, so screenshots with instructions will help. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

I have some ideas. Let's rethink this.

You have your switch automated. You have your door automated and the garage door monitored. I'd rethink this a bit. I have a few rules that cover scenarios like this. could you please post a screenshot of your rule? Also, do you have modes set up? A good rule of thumb, since you're just starting out is to remember that you can integrate with other rules. So, if you have an off rule on your kitchen light, then don't worry so much about the fact that it turns on when you're leaving.
I have a rule that does much of the same, but It's tied to my entry door and not to the overhead door.
triggers
entry door contact is changed

If
entry door contact is open
and
kitchen dining motion is inactive
then turn on dining room light