I have a C8 and a ton of Zooz switches and plugs in my home setup. I’m moving and will no longer need any of it as I’m starting from scratch and want to give everything to a friend. I first canceled my subscription in the portal, I reset the z-wave and zigbee radios, I performed a soft reset and cleared the past logs, then I went to the portal to deregister my hub and it says that I can’t because of active subscriptions (which, on the surface, seems dumb to have to begin with) but I DID cancel the subscription before I did everything. What is the issue here? And why is Hubitat making it so hard? How do I force de-register so I can give my friend my hub and switches to use?
Please allow 24 hours for the system to update the status of your subscription. If the problem persists, be sure to submit a case by visiting this link: Subscriptions – Hubitat Support
If you deregister a hub without canceling the subscription, first, your credit card will be charged in perpetuity without a way to cancel the subscription, or for us to identify your account and cancel the service for you.
I submitted the cancellation before wiping/resetting everything, but it was only after I reset everything that I noticed the account status was “pending cancellation” or whatever. Is that what you are referring to with the 24 hours thing? After its no longer pending will my hub then become free for my friend to use? (he’s not going to be getting it for a week or two anyway)? Or do I have to like go back in and set up my hub again and register it to my account and then wait for the cancellation to process or whatever and THEN reset/wipe it? Or am I essentially good to go, pending the 24 hours thing?
Thanks for the info, that seems much more reasonable than what I was thinking I was complaining about. I appreciate it.
No, the service remains in “pending cancelation” until it expires on the renewal date. Since there is no early termination refund, once you cancel the subscription, it will no longer renew.
The “24 hours thing” is the time the hub needs to get the “memo” that the service was canceled and is ok to detach the subscription. Once that happens, then you can de-register the hub.