First time using wait rule - can you check?

So this is my first time using the "wait" function, and I would love a second (or 3rd, or 20) set of eyes to make sure I'm doing this correctly.

Basically, I want my outside lights to turn on around sunset and off around sunrise.

1 Like

Looks good to me. I assume you turn off Main Hall Lights by some other means?

1 Like

@aaiyar

Yes the hall lights will go off at midnight (part of a midnight rule..).

Quick question - this has come up a few times for me.
If I want to run an action for certain days of the week. And nothing to happen on the other days, the system always forces me to pick a time for the "other" days... when I try to click "no selection" it automatically changes back to "certain time".

For example -
If I want my hall lights to go on at 10pm on Mon-Fri, but on the weekend I don't want this rule to apply. I set my trigger to time and days of the week, but they won't let me select "no selection" for sat/sun??

One of the great things about RM is that it provides so many options. One of the confusing things about RM is that it provides so many options. :crazy_face:

One idea is to use a Periodic trigger and select 'Every Weekday'.

Another idea is to use a time trigger and use a simple conditional action to exit the rule if it is Saturday or Sunday.

I'm sure there are other ways to do this too, but I like the quickest/easiest methods.
Too late in my post I noticed you tagged @aaiyar directly, so I apologize, and am returning to my cave.

4 Likes

Thanks appreciate the insights!

No need. Thank you for answering that so thoroughly.

I saw @jsc's post but was on my out to the post-office. Amazing how long everything takes in this Covid-19 era. The line was only about 12 people long (everyone with packages, including me).