ESP32-C6-DEVKIT-1 help!

Guys
I am looking for some help. I have been a dev on and off for a long time and used multiple languages during my career. But I have never really used C but have "hacked" some old code and made it work years ago.

I am now trying to get an ESP32-C6-DEVKIT-1 to behave as a Zigbee bulb. That is I want it to sit out there like a bulb and expose and on/off capability to my Hubitat C7

I have been trying to crack this for a long time now and have searched high and low for any example code that works to enable the ESP32-C6 to appear as a bulb and join the network my hubitat is offering.

Does anyone have any example code that works and enables the ESP32-C6 to appear as a bulb and join the hubitat ZigBee network?

Would anyone share some working code?

I am happy once I can see an example that I can then educate myself on how it is working and build out what I want to do.

Sorry if this seems lazy but it's not, there is a big hole in my knowledge.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

That is going to be a great board once support is fully completed for arduino. Unfortunately, the C6 is bleeding edge and is not supported by arduino yet. It is however functional-ish for ESPHome, so that is where I would go if I were you. There is a route to get a functioning zigbee device: ESPHome —> Home Assistant —> Hubitat via HADB (I’m doing this for a different ESP32 board).

There is work underway to skip the Home Assistant step and bring ESPHome devices into Hubitat directly, but I don’t have any experience with it.

link

Edit: There is also a thread about zigbee and ESP32 HERE

1 Like

Thanks for this.
I must be very naive I hoped there would be a simple example to follow.

I realise I have set myself a high task learning c and esp32 etc might be time for me to scrap it and find another dev board that has some working examples. Shame but wasting too much time getting anything working with this board.
Thanks again

check here: