Elk M1 via M1XEP Development

So I am looking for some help on how to go about sharing and further developing my Elk M1 integration.

I was looking for a way to communicate with my Elk M1 with my current equipment (M1XEP). I am not a developer nor do I have a github account. Thanks to reading Doug Beard's Envisalink setup and some other non hubitat integrations I have made decent progress.

Which leads me to now. What are my next steps? Should I share what I have so far? If so how (do I need github)? My setup for hubitat consist of installing a user app and driver.

For me personally, I have met most of my immediate necessities. So I would be working to add more features and cleaning up perhaps poorly written code.

Thanks for any feedback!
Mike

1 Like

Hi MIke,
I have been struggling with this myself for several months. I also am not a coder, but paid a person who did all this with ST. He agreed to port over to HE for me, but after paying him, he has disappeared.
But before he did, we made good progress. Using a NodeMcu ESP8266 interface, I got Elk dumping all zones and outputs, also arm/disarm.
Then he made a bridge driver to talk to the ESP8266. At this point HE can connect to the 8266 and create child devices for zones and inputs. All good except HE cannot see or update zone or output status, so it is not doing me much good. Something wrong with the parsing between HE and the 8266.
I very much need this working as well since many of my Elk devices are needed to control occupancy lighting and outputs for various switch controls.
I hope to see this working and support any efforts to make this happen.
Jack

Hey Jack

Do you have the Elk M1XEP (Ethernet Module)?

Mike

Yes. That is what connects to the ESP8266 via wifi.

Ok. The code I have is working pretty well in the limited time that I have tested it.

Here is what I have so far:

Current Features
Receive event messages
Map indivdual zones and thermostats
Receive zone change status