Drip Irrigation Controller Suggestions?

I'm redoing my landscaping. In addition to all the wonderful smart lighting possibilities I also decided that we're now going to have nice pretty shrubbery and plants and I'd like to not have to water all of that. I'm thinking of putting in an irrigation controller. Anyone have any thoughts or recommendations?

I have never done irrigation work before and I don't need something that supports a million zones, just a few. Any thoughts on a controller and any references on where I can go to learn about setting this up (like the plumbing side of it)?

Note: Based on the location, a direct plumbed solution is easier than a garden hose, but I can do the hose if need be

We very rarely need irrigation systems in the UK but if I was doing it, I would look at a ball valve for the main supply, then a solenoid valve for each zone.
Each would be plugged into an outlet (with a 12 vdc psu if required)
You can easily get little pressure reducers if the pressure is too high for your drippers.

It would be quite easy to write a little app to control it all.

I would tie the app into a weather device (preferably local) to watch for rainfall And record it over probably a 5-7 day period, then make a decision on whether to water or not that day

All this could be done for much cheaper than buying a full irrigation system

Andy

I’d normally agree But I’ve spent the last two weeks doing all the heavy stone lifting and dirt moving. This is going to be a time where “easy” outweighs “cheap” for me so I’m looking for something a bit more off the shelf. I want it to integrate, but I’m trying to avoid having to build something

Are you against something cloud connected?

The rachio I have is one of the very few systems I ever have issues with. I know its cloud connected but its pretty plug and play. Their api is also very easy to work with.

You can get the v2 with less zones to reduce costs.