Docker and Home Automation

Continuing the discussion from Node-RED nodes for hubitat:

Total noob in regards to docker but I have been interested in giving it a try. I am currently using a RPi 3B with dietpi to host NR, PiHole, PiVPN, and a NUT server and I have been thinking of transitioning over to docker containers. Could you give me a rundown of why someone would use docker containers over just normal Linux for this type of application and could it be adapted to docker 1:1?

Also where would you recommend starting? I have been thinking about upgrading to a Pi 4, so what are your thoughts on buying one of those and experimenting and cutting my teeth before doing a full transfer over?

1 Like

I have been using docker for a long time and used to install "natively" on the RPi until I started running into many conflicting needs for web servers, ports, etc. Once you get the hang of configuring containers with shell commands or using docker-compose downloading and tying new things out becomes very easy with no "residue" if you decide to remove the application.

Here is a good article on setting up and testing docket on RPIr:

How to install Docker and Docker Compose on Raspberry Pi (devdojo.com)

I suggest you read up on the documentation or watch some very good YouTube video's on docker also. Don't get caught up immediately into Portainer or Rancher until you have gotten you feet wet with the core product.

I have setup a really simple install for my mom's house that uses a RPi 4 with DNSCrypt-Proxy, PiHole, and EMBY media server. I built the same configuration in my lab a few months before for testing and trial and error for the configuration. I run DNSCrypt-proxy and PiHole in a single configuration with docker-compose since the are both needed for the DNS to work together and this took some "advanced" networking.

If you want to see a good inventory of popular applications that have public containers you can look here:

LinuxServer

fleet (linuxserver.io)