Device discovery of a Raspberry Pi

I'm new to Hubitat and have lots of questions.
I have an app which uses an ultrasonic probe to measure the volume of water in a water tank - it's written in Python and runs on a Raspberry Pi.
The Pi measures the volume every minute so I would like it to use this schedule to send "water volume" messages to the Hubitat (so no polling). Currently, I'm struggling with (at least) two problems.

1. How to make the Pi discoverable. I guess I need to use HubAction, but with what parameters? And what corresponding service/app do I need to add to the Pi to make it discoverable?
  2. How do callbacks work? How does Hubitat route async messages (from my Pi) to the appropriate app/device driver callback? Or does each one see all messages (seems inefficient)?
    Please write my code for me - only joking!
    And if you can point me to existing examples, please make them simple and well commented/documented.

I'll write it in short here, if you need more clarification, just ask. :wink:

1. SSDP would be the protocol to use, but if you're doing this just for yourself, you could just install as a virtual device and set the Device Network ID to the IP (or MAC) of your rPi (in hex, eg C0A80001 for 192.168.0.1).
  2. Send JSON formated POSTs to :39501. Then the parse() function of a driver will receive it. The message is routed based on the source IP or MAC of the sending device and is matched against the Device Network ID.

My drivers for Tasmota have an app for SSDP discovery and the drivers have the parsing code. All my code is built in a build system, so may not be the best example in terms of readability, but it does all you need.

4 Likes

Simplest method would be to use the Hubitat Maker API builtin App to allow your RPi Python script to update a virtual device on the Hubitat hub via a simple http call.

3 Likes

Thanks for trying to help guys.