Dashboard Tile PAUSE/RESUME

It there a way to create a Simple Lighting App "PAUSE/RESUME" Dashboard Tile. I assume this has been posted before but I can't find it. I'm a noob switching from Wink a few weeks ago.

Sure. Create a virtual switch with a name like Pause Lighting Automations. Then make every lighting automation conditional on that switch being off. Although you can check that switch in any RM rule, I always use Simple Lighting for lighting automations. It has the very convenient "Switch to disable Simple Lighting Rule".

Thx
I guess in a virtual device can I just fill in device fields with phony info and use the device for triggers?

In Devices, click "Add Virtual Device" and then choose device type of Virtual Switch (for what you are wanting to do). Other than that, all you need to give it is a Device Name, which you can make anything you want, like "Suppress lighting automations". Add that as a switch to your dashboard, and make your light automations conditional on being off.

Virtual switches are very handy for doing those things that seem otherwise impossible .. like tricking Alexa routines to run, etc.

Thank you

Can I create Simple Lighting Rule to Pause it in a Rule Machine Rule? The Simple Lighting Rules don't show up as an option in Rule Machine.

I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to do. The "Pause Lighting Automations" is a virtual switch that you create under Devices. Then create a dashboard tile to turn it on and off.

In Simple Lighting, you can make the automation conditional on that virtual switch being on or off.

Rule Machine doesn't necessarily play a part in this, although you could certainly make other rules conditional upon that virtual switch. Or, use RM to turn that switch on or off.

Sorry I am new to HE.
I finally found what you were trying to tell me....Took me a while to understand.
Thx

1 Like

Couple of observations