Custom Command For Thermostat

Hey guys,

I am new to Hubitat. Prior to this I had a Vera controller. When I setup my thermostat I had to set it up as a generic Z-wave thermostat. I would like to be able to change the energy mode of the thermostat to the energy savings mode. The variable in the thermostat I would change was "EnergyModeTarget" and I changed the value of it to "EnergySavingsMode." Could someone help me do this with Rule machine?

Thank you

Like your title says you'll have to make a custom command.
Then run that command in a rule.

Here's a video about making custom commands. It's not yours but actuator might still work for you.

You can't do a custom RM command for a parameter/command that doesn't already exist in the driver. And that command is definitely not in the Generic Z-Wave Thermostat driver. Custom commands in RM are only for commands that a device/driver already supports, but RM doesn't expose by default.

So you are out of luck unless there is a device handler that has that feature for that thermostat. The good news, is there may be a custom driver for it... Or one that could be made.

What thermostat make/model is it?

Thank you very much. The video is a good start. I don't think that will do what I need. Like Jason said, I think I need a different driver that has the parameter I need.

Thank you Jason. The thermostat I have is the RCS TZ45HR.

Do you know specifically what DTH / device handler you used in ST? The quickest path may be converting that one to HE.

I am not sure if this helps but, this is the command I used in Vera:
luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_UserOperatingMode1", "SetEnergyModeTarget", {NewModeTarget = "EnergySavingsMode"}, 139)

In Vera it was Service ID: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_UserOperatingMode1
The variable was: EnergyModeTarget
The value: "EnergySavingsMode"

To change it back to the normal mode the value changes to "Normal".

Instead of using schedules I would have that ran when I armed my alarm.