Curious: does eight sleep tracker have an API with real-time updates?

I’m not a developer so either way it doesn’t matter, but im curious. So I got the eight sleep tracking mat. It’s WiFi. The app registers presence almost instantly but doesn’t “upload” the information until like 15 mins later. When you get up it records that Immediatly, But than takes all the other stats, processes them all together locally, then upload them all together 15mins later. Is it possible to have an integration update presence as soon as it’s recorded or your just attached to the upload

Sorry, I don't really understand your question. What do you mean "post" vs "upload"? Are you saying if the API reports it at 1:18 but it really happened at 1:08 that it be back-dated? No, I don't think that is possible.

I think what you’re really wondering is something like the following?

“Does the eight sleep tracker have an api that can receive real-time updates of the device status? The IFTTT integration has a 15 minute delay.”

Or something to that effect?

2 Likes

Yes this

1 Like

Check their website or other home automation sites, there should be a description of the API (application programming interface), if there is one.

But keep in mind many IoT devices don’t expose anything beyond their native app, or IFTTT/Amazon Alexa/Google Assistant integration.

Ok, thx

1 Like

Now I get it. What you'd probably need is someone to download the Android app, decompile it and/or sniff the HTTP traffic, reverse engineer how the API works, and code that in HE. That's what I've had to do for most devices that don't have published APIs. It's what others have done too. It's a lot of work...

The other option is to see if anyone else already figured it out. It looks like someone wrote a Python library for that device already, GitHub - mezz64/pyEight: Python library to interface with the Eight Sleep API so you could start from there. But you'd still need to build an app/driver for HE based on that.