Creating buttons to control BroadLink

I’m hoping someone can explain in terms a newbie can understand… I’m still very new to the Hubitat world and have a lot to learn.

What are variables and how do I set them?

How do I assign button numbers to execute commands in the broadlink remote?

Are your desired Broadlink commands already integrated into Hubitat?

Are you seeking to create a Hubitat dashboard with buttons that mimic a remote's layout (or something along those lines)?

I couldn’t find a way to migrate the remotes already programmed into my BroadLink app so I’ve started learning it codes I’ve only got a few basic commands so far. I have a few buttons learned in to the remote and that’s as far as I was able to get. I would like to make a virtual remote using buttons so I can create basic rules to run the remote.

To be clear then, you haven't actually done anything with the Hubitat Broadlink community-developed integration app yet?

That app is great, but I won't lie... I'd consider it a challenging app to work thru if you're new to Hubitat (due to how Broadlink works, so no shade on the dev who wrote it!).

The dev wrote a really good readme file (linked in the link above), but it's geared toward someone who already has healthy familiarity with Hubitat and Rule Machine. I'd start with a full review of that readme...

My Broadlink command needs are pretty simple, so I don't have a dashboard for my Broadlink stuff -- hopefully other fellow Broadlink users here will be able to offer some good ideas for that part.

3 Likes

it's not obvious how to have broadlink actions executed within a rule or button controller. Here's my automation for changing channel and pausing DVR

1 Like

The read me for this integration is pretty extensive and actually has been very useful! I already have 3 BroadLink remotes paired up using the community integration app
and I learned in the IR codes to turn on and off my living room TV and turn the volume up or down.

1 Like