Control4 Zigbee Pro switches/dimmers

Hi guys.

I am a certified control4 tech. I have a control4 system in my house decked out with Alexa integration etc. I bought a hubitat because I always like to see what competition is out there and like to stay on top of emerging tech.

I have a bunch of switches and dimmers in my house and was trying to see if hubitat could talk to them. I was able to join a test switch to the hub, but thats as far as I got. I chose a generic zigbee switch as the type but I wasn't able to turn the switch on and off. The more I have read it seems control4 uses a proprietary profile with their zigbee so it doesn't play nice like the other profiles the zigbee switches/dimmers use.

Just wondering if anyone had made any headway trying the same with theirs?

1 Like

There are no control4 devices on the supported devices list. From what I know, which is not as much as others on here, control4 is not Zigbee HA protocol which is what Hubitat uses. By "generic zigbee switch", I assume you meant a control4 switch so it would likely not work. I am curious why you would not know this with your being a

1 Like

I don't really have insight into the inner workings of control4 devices, I am just an installer and work for a dealer so I have never really looked into how the zigbee on control4s eco system differed from the rest of the industry.

1 Like

It's not just control4 that is different. There are other devices also that are Zigbee but not Zigbee HA compliant. Some are closer than others but most have issues or won't work at all if you try to use them on a Zigbee HA system. Zigbee certified and/or compliant devices will be listed at zigbee.org

I pretty much figured I'd be out to lunch with the control4 gear but thought I'd ask anyways as I had a glimmer of hope when I read that someone had developed some code to partially run some c4 gear with smart things hub but I didn't know how reliable it was.