Constant Glucose Monitor API

https://developer.dexcom.com/home

I am not a developer. Does this API site from Dexcom allow an integration opportunity with dexcom constant glucose monitor series 4-7? Like I could commission one.

Being a Diabetic, waking up in the middle of the night in the 40 glucose range is not fun at all and life threatening. A integration to automate lights or alarm, notification, Alexa or something could save a life.

3 Likes

Looks like a "simple" REST API so it shouldn't be too difficult. I'll start looking at the Developer requirements today, and if I don't see anything that looks to be a major barrier should be able to start working on a prototype next week.

1 Like

Apparently Dexcom is the cheaper CGM solution that also is covered by Medicare. Could potentially be a lot of users. I will beta test anything that allows me to wake up the next morning.

1 Like

Another popular device is the Freestyle Libre 2. It looks like it also has an API.

3 Likes

I know someone who would be very, very grateful of this.

Watching with interest.

2 Likes

I would be interested also. My wife uses the G7.

2 Likes

If I had diabetes I’m not sure I would feel comfortable relying on a DIY home automation system, in particular including any link in the chain that’s cloud-dependent like Alexa, to warn me of hypoglycemic episodes.

I would advise the same to my patients.

As a diabetic, you rely on the management plan, your endo, and FDA approved products. This would not change that.

6 Likes

Agreed. This however would be an excellent addition.

3 Likes

not familiar with Dexcom but I'd be surprised they don't have some function available in a phone app already... my wife uses the Libre 2 mentioned above and the app on her iPhone alerts her (usually wakes me first, then I wake her) if range is too low

1 Like