Condition syntax help - somehow 195 != 195?

ok, giving up and hoping some kind soul can tell me why 195 != 195 apparently :sweat_smile:

obviously I am not a pro, but I thought I was capable enough to write a simple conditional statement in any language.

I had a full head of hair before I started writing this app.

def cHandler(evt) {
    log.info "New priority set: $evt.value"
    state.currentSchedulePriority = evt.value
    if (logEnable) log.debug ("\tNew State Value ${state.currentSchedulePriority}")

if (state.currentSchedulePriority.isInteger()){
        if (logEnable) log.debug ("$state.currentSchedulePriority is an integer")   
    } else {
        if (logEnable) log.debug ("$state.currentSchedulePriority is NOT an integer")                                   
    }

if (state.currentSchedulePriority == 195){
        if (logEnable) log.debug ("setting active Temp Group to Avg Temp - NST1 - Excluding MBR")
        state.activeTempGroup = "Avg Temp - NST1 - Excluding MBR"
    }
    else if (state.currentSchedulePriority == 197){
        if (logEnable) log.debug ("setting active Temp Group to Master Bedroom")
        state.activeTempGroup = "Master Bedroom"
    }
    else{
        log.warn ("activeTempGroup NOT SET")   
    }
}

edit: added code

If "evt" is coming from different sources, this could cause the flip/flops. Check the type of evt.value itself and you may find that to be the source of the concern.

If you want the state to be an integer, I would just give up and use the following in line 3:

state.currentSchedulePriority = evt.value.toInteger()

Dave

2 Likes

Thanks for responding Dave. I have 2 subscription handlers - is that what you mean by different sources?

tried converting the evt.value.toInteger() directly in the handler as you suggested but it did not like that:

groovy.lang.MissingMethodException: No signature of method: java.lang.Integer.isInteger() is applicable for argument types: () values: []