Can't get Hubitat-DoNS email sends working on RPi

I flashed a fresh image on my RPi and followed the instructions here: GitHub - adsavia/Hubitat-DoNS. Everything appears to have worked, but triggering a test email in Hubitat is not working (I'm not receiving an email).

I'm using google and created an app password. Here are some screenshots.

Starting app on RPi

eml_config.js

HE Device

When I run this in seperate putty instance:
sudo systemctl status DoNetStuff

I get "Unit DoNetStuff.service could not be found."

Help.

Read --> Hubitat-DoNS/DoNetStuff/misc/systemd at master Ā· adsavia/Hubitat-DoNS Ā· GitHub

2 Likes

Thanks for that. I copied over the service, but still no dice. The process doesn't seem to be getting far enough to hit the google server since my google account is not showing the app password as having been used yet.

Hello and welcome to Hubitat!
First of all, I am no expert in Linux, but I did get this thing to work, so...

1. Does your sendmail work? That is, is your rpi able to send mail? have you tested it, and is it working? (echo $hostname | /usr/sbin/sendmail -v youremailid@gmail.com)
  2. check to make sure that your DoNetStuff is working?
    sudo lsof -i -P -n | grep LISTEN
    (check to make sure that the port you picked, (e.g.3000) is on.
  3. check to see if/how DoNetStuff has been installed:
    sudo journalctl -xe

Please let us know the results of these checks.

3 Likes

OK, so dumb question. Was I supposed to do any configuration in Sendmail? I selected "google" in the HE Device's "Service" drop-down. Should I select "sendmail" instead?

OK, so I was working with my brother who is a Linux guy, and he had me set up a listener on the Pi on port 1337.

pi@Kessel:~ $ nc -l 1337

I confirmed the listener was working by attempting to telnet into it, and the listener reported that as expected.