Can I use Homekit without devices connected to Hubitat?

I am new to Hubitat. I have Homekit, Hue, and SmartThings devices with Samsung z-wave hubs. I was using Homebridge for Integration.

I just got the hub today because I learned of the integration between Hubitat and HomeKit. I plugged it in, got everything set up, and installed the HomeKit app.

Now I am lost. I am not sure where to go. I don’t see any other Hubs and devices. So, now I am not certain the actual purpose of this device.

Also, I don’t see a way to add Devices or connect to HomeKit - no code, doesn’t appear as an option in HomeKit, etc..

This is a lot, it’s overwhelming, and I don’t know where to begin.

I am worried this hub needs to have all of the z-wave devices connected directly two it, I have two Samsung hubs in different zones… this is a BIG ask, can this not function like HomeBridge, who can help with all of this. I will search through a bunch of documents and videos and hope, but I don’t want to spend a lot of time to find out this is just a z-wave hub? It’s confusing….

Hubitat’s HomeKit integration is intended to be used with directly paired devices, whether z-wave or zigbee.

It can’t function like homebridge because unlike homebridge, Hubitat is working on becoming an Apple-certified HomeKit hub. Apple imposes more rules and limitations on certified devices than uncertified ones.

Edit: This page of the hub documentation explains how the HomeKit integration works.

4 Likes

Welcome aboard. While this is a big task, it might be the last time you'll ever do it. Unlike most other hubs, Hubitat Elevation has the capability of migrating devices from one Hubitat to another, so if your current hub dies, you'd be up and running again in 10 minutes or less. Not many hubs can do that. If you move your Z-Wave devices from Smartthings to Hubitat, one time, you can take advantage of the migration capabilities for years to come.

2 Likes